2021年有关“新冠病毒与存在的既定”的亚洲区域会议:
关于区域应对的亚洲跨国对话

August 21-22, 2021

欢迎参加2021年关于新冠病毒和存在的既定的亚洲区域会议。 亚洲区跨国对话,探讨区域对策。国际存在-人本心理学院和马来西亚HELP大学很高兴邀请您参加一个独特的在线会议,题为新冠病毒和存在的既定--关于区域应对的亚洲跨国对话。 顾名思义,这次会议将汇聚亚洲各地不同存在主义方向的思想家和实践者,就不同地域如何应对新冠病毒大流行病进行介绍和对话。 每位演讲者将被要求讨论新冠病毒大流行如何丰富了他们对存在主义心理学的理解,以及他们所在的特定地理区域如何应对大流行,包括他们文化中的各种智慧传统如何帮助他们应对这次大流行。 为了配合8月同期举行的 国际会议 演讲者将重点讨论以下四个存在的既定作为国际会议的主题:  自由、限制、关系和意义。

会议日程

点击每张照片,了解每位主讲人的详细信息。

09:30

Covid-19冠状病毒没有颠覆我的人生,它给予我对人生的反思

当婉莹有其机会前往英国伦敦修读存在主义,对她而言有种心有所属的感觉。然而,追求梦想也代表放弃稳定的将来,走向一个未知。 毕竟存在主义在她居住的新加坡是非常渺茫的。尽管如此,她依然勇敢的朝这条鲜少人的路走下去。六年后,婉莹更接近寻获自己的声音,成为一名专注于人生真实性的研究生,也把存在主义带回她的家乡。她目前希望有自己的私人诊室并成为一名妻子。2020 本应该是精彩的一年,但新冠病毒发生了。可想而知,新加坡以其专制的治理措施防御病毒的扩散。在这样的一个时间段,生活在新加坡,对一个亚洲女性的梦想和计划会有怎么样的影响和冲击. 这个国家对新冠病毒的防疫措施如何改造她对存在主义的思想定位,比如人生的真实性和自由。结果2020依然是精彩的一年,只是不同罢了。

郑婉莹 (新加坡)

10:20

中场休息

10:35

"中间空间的勇气和复原力":一个菲律宾人对悲痛的看法和菲律宾对新冠病毒大流行病的反应。

当一场大流行病给我们带来如此多的痛苦和损失时,它对我们还有什么意义和目的? 2020年本应是充满意义和欢乐的一年。 然而,当新冠病毒到来时,撤退和团聚被失落和悲伤所取代。 政府前后不一的应对措施充满了混乱,也充满了恢复的压力。将疫情政治化,传播错误信息,将经济置于科学和身心健康之上,造成了人民之间的严重不信任。 媒体人士也是同谋,他们散布假新闻,导致公众不信任、相信伪科学、不信任医护人员、对疫苗犹豫不决,以及歧视新冠病毒患者及其家属。菲律宾可以从这场大流行中学习或获得什么? 当一个人有勇气和毅力停留在中间空间--在这个空间里,一个人与困难和痛苦同在,同时又有能力问,当有如此多的痛苦和损失时,存在什么信息?

Vincent Evangelisa
文森特-托马斯-埃文格里斯塔, (菲律宾宿雾)

11:25

中场休息

11:40

疫情的不确定,让我们在无常中

创巴仁波切在《日常生活中的死亡》文中写道:我们都是在恐惧死亡、隐藏死亡真相的文化下长大的,然而,我们无时无刻不在经历它。

从2020年疫情持续到现在,世界依然处在不确定的动荡之中。我们并不清楚何时才能免疫于病毒,我们也不知道何时才能自由无碍的旅行。很多国家和民族都对谈论死亡有所禁忌,在中国,我们从小耳濡目染的或多或少接受到死亡与无常的认知教育。在中国的传统节日中,我们有清明节和“鬼节”,用来纪念已经失去的人。我们也借由这些仪式去表达思念,也学习如何面对无常。佛经中也谈到,诸行无常。世间的存在都是无常的,没有永恒不变。最早的“无常”出现在《易经》中,在中国文化下也很注重这个观点。 

存在主义心理学家欧文.亚隆也在他的书中谈到,当死亡遭到否认时,生命会失去热情。当我们开始去直面和思考这些问题时,必然会引发“焦虑”和“恐惧”。而疫情,像是亚隆提到的“边界处境”,迫使我们去面对自己存在于世的“处境”。

做为心理工作者,在疫情之后,我们的职业现状也经历变化。来访者的工作生活情感家庭情况也受到疫情影响。在这样的处境之下,我们如何更好的安住自己,更好的安住在我们与来访者的工作中,是我们每个心理工作者需要去深入思考和探索的。

罗乐 (成都,中国)

12:30

午餐时间

Conference Registration

2021 Asian Regional Conference on Covid-19 and the Givens of Existence:
An Asian Transnational Dialogue About Regional Response

August 21-22, 2021

Welcome to the 2021 Asian Regional Conference on Covid-19 and the Givens of Existence:  An Asian Transnational Dialogue About Regional Response. The International Institute of Existential Humanistic Psychology and HELP University Malaysia is pleased to invite you to participate in a unique online conference titled Covid-19 and the Givens of Existence – An Asian Transnational Dialogue about Regional Response.  As the name of the conference suggests, the conference will bring together existential thinkers and practitioners across Asia from a variety of existential orientations to present and dialogue about how various geographical regions have responded to the Covid-19 Pandemic.  Each of the presenters will be asked to discuss how the Covid-19 pandemic has enriched their understanding of existential psychology and how their particular geographical region has dealt with the pandemic, including how the various wisdom traditions of their culture have helped with coping.   In line with the concurrent International Conference which will be taking place during the month of August, the presenters will focus upon the following four existential givens, which serve as the main themes of the International Conference:  Freedom, Finitude, Relatedness, and Meaning.

Conference Schedule

Click on each photo for more information regarding each presenter

09:30

COVID-19 Has Not Turned My Life Upside Down; It Has Turned It Inside Out

There was a sense of homecoming for Magdalen when she learnt of the opportunity to pursue Existential Therapy in London. However, chasing this dream meant sacrificing stability for a future that was uncertain. After all, existential psychotherapy carries a scarce presence in Singapore, where she lives. Still, displaying much courage, she embarked on a road less travelled. Six years later, Magdalen is closer to finding her voice, becomes a researcher on authenticity and accepts her calling to introduce existential therapy to in her home town. She plans to start her private practice and settle down as a Mrs. 2020 should have been an exciting year. Then COVID landed. As expected, Singapore has taken on an authoritarian response to the situation. How does living in Singapore at this time impact on the dreams and plans of this Asian woman? How has the country’s response to COVID re-shape her position on existential ideas like authenticity and freedom? In the end, 2020 turned out to still be an exciting year, just different.

Magdalene Cheng, M.A. (Singapore)

10:15

Courage and Resilience in the Middle Space: A Filipino’s Perspective on Grief and the Philippines’ Response to the Covid-19 Pandemic

What meaning and purpose could a pandemic have for us when it brings so much suffering and loss?  The year 2020 was to be filled with meaning and joy.  Yet when Covid-19 arrived, retreats and reunions were replaced with loss and sorrow.  The government inconsistent response was filled with confusion and the pressure to portray resilience. Politicizing the pandemic, disseminating misinformation, prioritizing the economy over and above science and physical and mental health, created significant distrust amongst the people.  Media personality were also complicit through the distribution of fake news resulting in public mistrust, belief in pseudoscience, mistrust of healthcare workers, vaccine hesitancy, and the discrimination of Covid-19 patients and their families. What can the Philippines learn or gain from living through the pandemic?  What lessons are available when one has the courage and resilience to stay in the middle space – that space where one stays with the difficulty and pain while maintaining the capacity to ask what message exists when there is so much suffering and loss?

Vincent Evangelisa
Vincent Thomas Evangelista, M.A. (Cebu, Philippines)

11:00

Break

11:10

Freedom Lost, Freedom Regained: How I Situate Myself in a Divided City (Hong Kong) with the Impact of COVID-19

The past two years have not been easy for Hong Kongers, with the political strife dividing the city of Hong Kong into opposition and polarization, COVID-19 compounds the impact by reminding us of the transitoriness of life. What further complicates the situation is the emphasis of political stance: governmental policy against COVID-19 was interpreted as conspiracy, social media selectively reporting ‘news’ according to their political presences, and people digesting information through their tainted glasses of political beliefs. Our freedom is not only limited by the threat brought along by the virus, or the isolation induced from different kinds of restricting policy, but also our own imposing limits that hinders our freedom of choice. The combination of COVID-19 and the current sociopolitical atmosphere shattered the sense of meaning for many people in Hong Kong, including the presenter.  Therefore, the presenter will also discuss his own personal experience of losing his sense of freedom and how this experience was clouded with anger, confusion and despair.  At the same time, the struggle has also led the presenter to reacknowledge his personal and spiritual freedom. 

Arthur Cheuk-Man Li, Psy.D. (Hong Kong)

11:50

The Uncertainty of the Epidemic Leaves Us in the Midst of Impermanence

In his article “Death in Everyday Life,” Trungpa Rinpoche wrote, “We have all grown up in a culture that fears and hides the truth about death.  Yet nevertheless, we experience death all around us.”

From the beginning of the pandemic in 2020 till now, the world remains in uncertain turmoil. We do not know when we will be immune to the virus, nor do we know when we will be able to travel freely, unimpeded.  In many cultures, death is a taboo subject. Though in China we are taught off and on from an early age about death and impermanence.  Among the traditional Chinese festivals, there is Qingming Festival and the “Ghost Festival” to remember those who have been lost. We also use these ceremonies to express our remembrance and learn how to face impermanence. The Buddhist scriptures also talk about the impermanence of all actions. All existence in this world is impermanent, and nothing is immutable. The earliest reference to “impermanence” is found in the I Ching, and impermanence is strongly emphasized in the Chinse culture. 

The existentialist psychologist Irvin Yalom wrote about the loss of passion for life when death is denied. Yet when we begin to confront and contemplate these issues, it inevitably leads to “anxiety” and “fear”. Covid-19 can be understood as a “border/awakening experience” as proposed by Yalom, challenging us to face how we exist in the world.

As psychologists, we have experienced numerous changes in our clinical practice in the aftermath of the epidemic. Our clients’ occupational, emotional, and family life situations are impacted by the pandemic.  Under such conditions, how can we be more grounded, both within ourselves and in our work with our clients, is something that all of us psychologists need to deeply reflect upon and explore.

Gracee Luo (Chengdu, China)

12:30

Lunch Break